Tuesday Thoughts & Training

In the light of the tragedy at the Boston Marathon yesterday, one of my good friends asked me if I would still be running my marathon that I've been training for. When I said "Yes, of course, I'm still going to run it" he said that he hoped that I would say that. We runners are a strong community and something like yesterday will only make us stronger – both as individuals and as a whole community. Although tragic, yesterday's events will not stop us. They will give us even more drive and determination to do what some think is crazy or even impossible. On that note, here's my training recap from last week, my first week of tapering for the Country Music Marathon in Nashville!

Monday – On the schedule (OTS): 4 miles
                What I did (WID): Ran 4 miles!! Yes, I actually got my week started off on the right foot!

Tuesday – OTS: Rest or XT (cross train)        
                 WID: Rest, and the extra sleep sure was nice!! I did have a softball game in the evening, so I didn't have a complete day of rest.

Wednesday – OTS: 8 miles    
                      WID: Sleep. I was tired after the softball game last night which was followed by wearing Thomas during Robert's baseball game afterwards. And then we didn't get home until after 9 and Thomas was overtired and was up several times during the night.

Thursday – OTS: 3 miles
                  WID: Ran 6.1 miles – made up for yesterday a little bit. I was a little stiff from the softball game on Tuesday and this really helped loosen my legs up.

Friday – OTS: Rest or XT
              WID: Rest. Another graduation ceremony with 0715 formation, so no time for even a short workout DVD. Last one of these Friday graduations for a while.

Saturday – OTS: 12 miles
                  WID: Ran 12.8 miles. I had a great run, my fastest paced long run since my half marathon in February. What a great confidence boost for 2 weeks before my marathon!!

Sunday – OTS: Rest or XT
               WID: Much needed rest!! It was nice sleeping in a little later.

Total miles for the week – Scheduled: 27, Actual: 22.8
Total miles run for this marathon training cycle so far – 270

I'm thankful that softball season has started so I don't go crazy with my lower mileage during taper.

4 thoughts on “Tuesday Thoughts & Training

Leave a comment