The grasshopper and the PT test

Yesterday morning I had my monthly diagnostic PT test. So I had to be at work at 6, but that wasn’t too big a deal once I got rid of the grasshopper. I got in my van and backed out of the driveway and started going. Something hit against my plastic bag that I use for garbage. Ok, so maybe one of Robbie’s toys fell against it. Then it hit the plastic bag again. At this point, I turned on the overhead light and looked back. There is a HUGE grasshopper (like 4 inches long!) on the edge of my garbage bag. NO WAY am I driving 11 miles with that thing in the van with me. So I pull over (I’m still on my side road, so no traffic) and put on my 4-way flashers just in case. I open both the side doors and get out and go around to the passenger side. I gingerly reach in and wiggle the bag. The grasshopper doesn’t move. Wiggle a little harder. He’s not going anywhere – except INSIDE the bag. So I CAREFULLY remove the bag from the van and drop it on the grass. Grasshopper is still there. So I kick the bag over and garbage goes all over. The grasshopper finally realizes that he is not wanted and goes on his merry way – AWAY from the van thankfully. I gather up the garbage, put it back in the bag, and put the bag back in my van. I get back in, close the doors and get on my way to PT. Luckily I had left a bit early so I wasn’t late. But talk about getting my adrenaline going for the PT test!!

The test went really well. I improved on both pushups and situps, but was a little slower on the run. I’m still happy with how I did, though. I did 43 pushups (92%), 69 situps (86%), and ran my 2 miles in 18:18 (79%). I got a total score of 247.

Other than that, nothing much has gone on. I did have class last evening and that was lots of fun. Good discussions and lots of laughing. After class, our group got together to decide who is doing what for our research paper. So now I need to get going on my part. . .

Leave a comment