Marathon Monday

Today begins the first of 17 weekly updates on my marathon training. I have registered for the Country Music Marathon in Nashville, TN, on Saturday, 27 April. This will be marathon #4 for me and I'm excited about it, but also scared to death. I'm using a 16 week training program from the Runner's World Smart Coach app.

Here's my recap from Week 0 of training (various schools and other multi-day events in the Army often have a Day 0 which is usually administrative/prep work, so I have a Week 0 before my training plan officially starts):

Monday – On the schedule (OTS): Travel Day
                What I did (WID): Sat in the van all day as we finished our trip home from MI

Tuesday – OTS: 4 miles
                 WID: Unpacked the van, unpacked suitcases, relaxed

Wednesday – OTS: 5 miles
                      WID: 4.1 miles because my knee started hurting

Thursday – OTS: 4 miles
                   WID: .6 miles – stupid knee, but I know when to listen to my body

Friday – OTS: Rest or XT (cross train)
              WID: Rest

Saturday – OTS: 8 mile long run
                  WID: Rest – giving the knee one more day off

Sunday – OTS: Rest or XT
                WID: Rest – forgot to set my alarm to get Saturday's 8 miles in before church

Total miles for the week – Scheduled: 21, Actual: 4.7

Not such a great start to marathon training, but I need to figure out what is causing the knee pain. I'm thinking it might just be tight muscles (glutes & hamstrings), so I'll be doing a lot more stretching.

2 thoughts on “Marathon Monday

  1. You listened to your body, which was the smart thing to do. Plus, it’s only the first week so no worries.

    Tell me more about the smart coach app – I can’t find it in the app store.

Leave a Reply

