A Busy Holiday Season

Life as an Army Musician gets crazy this time of year between parades and concerts. And rehearsals for those parades and concerts. And then, of course, there are still the regular ceremonies that we play weekly. It sure keeps us on our toes! Last weekend we marched 5 parades in 3 days and 3 of those parades were on Saturday. If you add in the one from the Friday night prior, that was 4 parades within 24 hours. But it's fun, despite the hours on the bus. I always bring a crochet project with me, and lately I've been working on Christmas presents while on the bus. Tonight is the first of our 3 Holiday Concerts – the other two are next Thursday and Friday. Our last two parades are tomorrow evening and Saturday morning. Add in the Cub Scout Christmas Party Saturday afternoon and the Band Christmas Party Sunday afternoon, and that makes for one busy mama!!

The boys are doing well. Robert is doing well in school and is learning multiplication. He's struggling a little with it, but I think it's more that he's not thinking the problems through all the way and less than that he doesn't know what he's doing. On the weekends, he's been spending time outside riding his bike with his friend who lives across the street. They'll stay outside and ride up and down our street for hours on end!

Thomas is still growing like a weed. He has 5 teeth now – a third one finally came in on the bottom. He's still working on standing unsupported and can manage a few seconds before falling. Still no solo steps, but he sure loves walking while holding onto furniture or our hands and pushing things (empty boxes, laundry baskets, his walking-push toy) around the house and the yard. He loves to play peek-a-boo, and he's starting to "talk" more and more. We know when he's saying cat, car, ball, bottle/cup (same word right now – and sounds the same as ball but accompanied by the sign for milk and sometimes he'll go to the fridge and try and open the door), mama, dada, and once in a while bubba (brother). He also knows that a car goes vmmmm. He loves playing with bottles, "inventorying" the plastic bowls in the cupboard, putting things into and taking them out of containers, and he's starting to have fun with hats – especially Big Brother's hat. It's so fun watching him grow from a baby into a little boy.

If you follow me on Facebook or Twitter, you've seen that I've been running a lot more lately. I joined the Runner's World Holiday Run Streak challenge, where you run at least 1 mile every day from Thanksgiving to New Years. I finished day 15 today and I feel great (and it's actually day 16 of running every day since we had a Battalion run the day before Thanksgiving). I'm hoping that with this I'll be able to stay a lot more consistent with my running, and it will also help me stay running in the snow and cold when I go home to the U.P. for Christmas. I have a half marathon in February that I'd like to run – and it's only in Dothan so it wouldn't even require and overnight trip somewhere!! I'm also eyeing the Lansing Marathon in April, but I'd need a plane ticket to get there. I definitely want to run another marathon next year, as well as several more half marathons. The main reason I want to run another marathon (other than the challenge itself) is because the math between my half marathons and my marathons doesn't add up. My fastest marathon is nearly 6 1/2 hours. My fastest half marathon is 2:15. I *should* be able to finish a full marathon in between 4:45 and 5:00. Where is all that extra time coming from, other than from a lack of consistent training? I've had a great year of running this year (it's already my highest-mileage year ever and there's still almost a full month to go) and I want to continue to build on that progress next year.

Ok, I think I've rambled enough for one day. Until next time (which will hopefully be sooner rather than later). . . . . .

One thought on “A Busy Holiday Season

  1. Busy!

    My goodness you are busy!!! I remember those very special years, when a child becomes an honest to goodness person. So cool seeing personalities develop!

Leave a Reply

