Spring Break Surprise Vacation – Day 2

Today was a travel day. We had about a 3 hour drive from hotel A in Casa Grande to hotel B in Williams. Yeah. Sure. On a good day. Today was NOT that day. We're under a winter storm warning and had the pleasure of driving on crappy roads, sometimes moving only 5-10 miles an hour. There were many spots where we were stopped for a while and just crept along – usually where there were cars in the ditch. We saw one good samaritan – he had a good vehicle and had just helped one car out of the ditch and headed over to the other side of the road to help another car. We gave him a thumbs up. We had planned on eating lunch in Flagstaff, but about 20 or so miles south of there Thomas was so hungry and crying so hard that we got off on an exit that had a Shell station and I nursed him there and we just got chips/snacks for "lunch". We *FINALLY* made it to the interchange from I-17 N onto I-40 W and we ended up at a standstill for probably 20-30 minutes. Robert and I traded seats and I changed Thomas' diaper with him on my lap in the back seat. I was about to nurse him again to get him to sleep, but we finally started moving again.

Once we were on 40, the roads were a little better than on 17, but we still saw plenty of cars in the ditch, jack-knifed semis (one spot there were like 3 all together), rear-ended vehicles, etc. We were lucky to have even gotten there as both 17 and 40 were closed earlier in the day. We finally were about 10 miles from our exit and there was NO other traffic in either direction. I thought that was very odd given the amount we had been seeing. So I got back on Twitter on my phone to see if there were any more update from the AZ Dept of Transportation (I started following them this morning to get updates on the highway closures) and sure enough, I-40 was closed. Including the part we were on. Oops! But we figure that when they close a highway, traffic that is already past the point where they close it when they close it is allowed to continue until they exit. But anyway, we finally made it to the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. It's a beautiful place and all the staff is very friendly. We got settled in our room and then headed to the Depot to pick up our train tickets for tomorrow and meal passes for the Cafe – it was a package deal with 2 nights at the hotel, 2 dinners, 2 breakfasts, and round trip on the train to the Grand Canyon. The Cafe is really nice and it's a buffet with LOTS of yummy food! Ryan and I each had a salad and build-your-own pasta. They have a chef and you tell him what kind of pasta, what veggies/meats, and what sauce and it's made fresh for you! I had linguine with marinara sauce with mushrooms, broccoli, and onions. It was really good! Robert had chicken tenders and BBQ chicken, but didn't really eat too much. The altitude (nearly 7000 feet) is affecting him and he wasn't feeling very good.

After dinner we walked back to the hotel and I got super-sleepy Thomas ready for bed and nursed him while Ryan took Robert down to the pool/hot tub for a little while. There were some other kids there and Robert had fun playing with them. Hopefully tomorrow evening after we get back from the Grand Canyon I'll be able to take Thomas down there as well. I think I'm going to read my Runners World magazine for a bit and then go to bed.

Here's a pic from along I-17 when were about 50 miles south of Flagstaff.

One thought on “Spring Break Surprise Vacation – Day 2

  1. patti

    When my dad was stationed in Phoenix, for my birthday that year we went to Flagstaff. Remember my b’day is in Dec. So, this is just what it looked like the last time I saw it! LOL!! Brings back memories, though.

Leave a Reply

