Super Bowl Sunday

I didn't make it up and to church for the early service that the choir sang at this morning, but I did manage to get Robert to Sunday School and all three of us to the late service. Lots of people asked where Ryan was and he's got a lot of people praying for him while he's at his PTSD treatment program. The service was a little shorter than normal as we didn't have Communion. Robert was a little sad about that. Our pastor and our intern and all the council members were on a retreat this morning and the service was led by one of the members who is a seminarian. After church we went to IHOP for lunch. I think everyone else in town had the same idea – we had to wait about 20 minutes to get a table. Once we were done eating, we went to Target to get a few things and then to the grocery store for our little bit of groceries for the week. Everybody was at the grocery store when we were there. They should have all been at home for their Super Bowl parties, not doing last minute shopping. But it wasn't too bad inside. After I got the groceries put away, I nursed Thomas and put him down for a nap, but he didn't really sleep all that long. We spent the afternoon watching the Super Bowl and I did some powerpoint slides for a class I have to give at work. I made chicken cordon bleu (Schwann variety) and red-skinned taters for dinner, and after dinner Robert got a bath. Thomas finally slept after several nursing sessions and a bowl of baby oatmeal – he's still asleep – going on 4 hours. I wish he'd sleep for 4-5 hour stretches at night, but I know it will come eventually. In a way I'll miss our middle of the night snuggle/nursing sessions. But it would be nice to sleep more than 3 hours at a time again.  While Robert was in the bathtub, I stitched and called Mom and Dad. And then I called Ryan and talked to him for a while as well. I'm about to go change Thomas and nurse him once more and then go to bed myself. This weekend went by way too fast.

Today's high:  61
Current:  49

Leave a Reply

