Life as a Stay at Home Mom

I've really been enjoying my time being a stay at home mom with Thomas and I'm not really looking forward to going back to work.  I enjoy snuggling on the couch with my little man.  I enjoy going for walks with him in the snugli and runs with him in the stroller (just the regular one still, but it soon will be the jogger).  I enjoy being a soccer mom and going to Robert's soccer games and cheering for team Dynamite.  I enjoy not really having a schedule and just kind of doing whatever. But that must end soon.  I only have a week of leave left and then I'll be going back to work next Monday.  I know I'll be probably be fine once I'm back into the swing of things, but just thinking about it isn't fun. 

Right now I'm at my parents' house in Michigan with Thomas.  My grandmother passed away recently and I'm home for the funeral.  Of course, since I'm breastfeeding Thomas, he got to come home with me.  He did really well on his first airplane flights and we had a really good trip.  Going through security in Tucson was a lot easier than I had expected – I figured I'd have to take Thomas out of the snugli, but they allowed me to wear him through. Not only does Southwest airlines do early boarding for families with small children between the A and B sections, but on Veterans Day, they early boarded active duty military in the middle of the A section, so I was able to board even earlier.  I headed right to the back of the plane and my seat mates ended up being grandparents and the grandma was so sweet.  She's a nurse at the VA hospital in Tucson so we talked a lot about that and of course about babies and stuff.  And she had no problem whatsoever with me breastfeeding Thomas on the plane!  That was the flight from Tucson to Chicago-Midway. From Chicago to Detroit, I had the back row of seats to myself!!  That was really nice. My brother met us in Detroit and then we drove to Mom & Dad's in the U.P. It was a long day of traveling.  Yesterday I went for a 5.8 mile run and that was nice – I really enjoyed the cool, crisp, clean air of the U.P. 

My fundraising for Team in Training is going well.  I'm almost to halfway and still plenty of time for you to make a donation. Just click the link below my tickers. My Pampered Chef fundraising show will be closing tomorrow afternoon and I'm almost to $1500 in orders – 15% of my total sales will go toward my fundraising!  And I'm doing a Dine to Donate day at Applebee's in Sierra Vista tomorrow as well – 10% of the sales of people who mention Team in Training or Leukemia & Lymphoma Society will go toward my fundraising as well.

Go to http://pages.teamintraining.org/dm/pfchangs12/laniyearicks to help move my dollar sign down the road!!

Leave a Reply

