Happy Thanksgiving!!!

I started this morning by heading to Tucson with K.  We ran the Thanksgiving Cross Country Classic 5K.  It was a beautiful day for a race – about 45 degrees at race start.  I opted for a long sleeve shirt and my running skirt and gloves.  The course was a cross country course, complete with several hay bales to jump over and 3 water crossings.  We did the loop twice.  I didn’t look at my Garmin at all during the race, except to verify that the 1 and 2 mile markers were indeed at 1 and 2 miles.  I finished in 30:50, a 9:55 pace!  This was my 3rd fastest 5K and it felt great!!  While I was running, I was thinking I was maybe at a 10:30 pace and I was pleasantly surprised at the end.  I ended up 411 of 773 females and 53 of 102 in my age group.  I’m very happy with that!!

After I got home, I played Memory Match with Robert, and he beat me very soundly.  And, no, I didn’t let him win either.  Then I checked e-mail and did other computer stuff before we headed to T’s house for Thanksgiving dinner.  My friend M was there with his family (wife and 2 kids) and L was there as well.  It was a lot of fun and T’s daughter and M’s son and Robert all had a good time playing together.  M’s daughter hung out with us adults.  There was tons of food, and so much food that no one noticed that the green bean casserole never made it to the table.  I did take some home to eat over the weekend.  

Once home from dinner (we were there for 4 hours or so), we just relaxed and I got some more stitching done (I stitched in the car on the way home from Tucson as well).

The only thing that could have made the day better would have been being with my family in Michigan.  But at least I’ve got good friends here to spend time with, and I’ll be home in Michigan in less than a month and I’m definitely looking forward to that!!

Today’s high:  50
Current:  37

Leave a Reply

