Bisbee 1000 Race Report!!

It was a beautiful day for the Bisbee 1000 Great Stair Climb.  The temperature at race start was in the upper 50s/low 60s. The race was VERY well organized and TONS of awesome volunteers. We started in waves about a minute apart so that the steps didn’t get too clogged up. I was in the 6th wave, color coded maroon. Once we got started, we were teased a bit as it started off with a slight down hill. But soon the ups began, and we hit the first of 9 staircases along the course. I was thankful for my powerful legs this morning and passed a lot of people on the uphill portions and quite a few on the steps as well, even though I walked up the steps.

I saw, heard, and did a few strange things today. The strange thing I did: Just before the first water stop was people handing out mimosas (champagne & oj). I’d never had one before, and I figured a little wouldn’t hurt. So I had one, and then spent the next mile feeling like I was going to throw up. It tasted really good, but not such a good idea while running. Water from the next water stop settled my stomach. The strange thing I heard: I ran past a group of 3 girls discussing waxing. And not just waxing legs either. I got a bit of TMI from that conversation. And the strange thing I saw: Shortly after the group of waxing girls, a guy ran past me wearing a cowboy hat, running shirt, sandals, and a RUNNING SKIRT!!! Almost exactly like mine. Very odd.

Eventually I hit the last staircase and once I was at the top, it was all downhill to the finish!! My official finish time (from my chip) was 1:01:01. According to my Garmin, the course was 4.5 miles long and I had a total ascent of 1106 feet and a total descent of 1074 feet.  I think I must have bumped my Garmin after I had stopped it and it added .02 on the distance and a little bit of time before I noticed it. Oh well. It was a really good morning and I definitely hope to run this again in future years – and actually train for it.

The awards ceremony was cool as well, and they gave out TONS of awesome freebies after. ACE Hardware was a major sponsor and had tons of stuff to give away. I got a pretty cool flashlight for "Having used Sierra Regional Health Center" recently and I got an American flag kit for being Active Duty Army. And then some of the other sponsors had stuff as well, and I got a $20 gift card to the Bisbee Grille for being Active Duty military and a reusable ACE hardware shopping bag just because.

After the awards and prizes were done, I grabbed lunch in Bisbee before heading back to Sierra Vista to pick Robert up.  He spent the night at his friend J’s house last night and I spent the night at my friend B’s house.  Sleepovers for both of us!!  He had a great time with his friend, and did really well at his soccer game this morning, scoring 3 goals.  Once we got home, I made him some frozen waffles for dinner and while he was eating, I went and grabbed a shower.  Then we watched the NASCAR race that we had Tivoed and I stitched.  Off to bed now, and I bet I’ll sleep good.

Today’s high:  77
Current:  62

2 thoughts on “Bisbee 1000 Race Report!!

Leave a Reply

