Two Parks

I slept in a little this morning, and the guys slept in A LOT.  About 0830 I headed for post and stopped by my admin higher-up’s to pick up some paperwork and then brought that by the band hall and prepped it for Chief’s signature.  I also checked in with 1SG – no formation today – we just had to call in.  But since I was there, I checked in in person.  Then I headed to the pool and swam some laps.  After a bit of a warm up, I swam a trial 825 yards to practice for the triathlon coming up on Saturday.  I completed the 825 yards in 18:43.  I’ll totally take an 18:00 on Saturday!!!  My total distance today was 950 yards in 23 minutes.  Then I headed home for a late breakfast, and my guys were just getting up.  At 1030!!  Robert never sleeps that long, but he was up in the middle of the night from a nightmare – of course, I was up with him for a little while.

Ryan headed to his ceramics class and I finally did my e-mails and other computer stuff.  Then after a while, Robert and I headed out to the park.  I’ve been seeing a little park really near our house on Google maps, so we went exploring and found it.  It’s off the beaten path and was a neat little park – a couple of picnic tables and a little playground.  Robert played there for a while and then we headed to the big park in town so Robert would have other kids to play with.  Well, that didn’t happen today.  Usually there’s TONS of people in the park and lots of kids of all ages playing.  But not today.  There were a couple of other kids there, but they were LOTS younger than Robert.  So he and I played frisbee for a while and he played by himself on the playground for a while.  It was still a fun afternoon.  Then we went grocery shopping and got gas in the van before heading home.  The house smelled really good when we walked in – nothing like the smell of fresh baked bread!  I had started the breadmaker before we left out.  I made dinner and it was good, especially with fresh, still warm bread!  Then after some relaxing time, I did up strawberry shortcake for dessert.  After Robert was in bed, I crocheted for a little while.

Today’s high:  96
Current:  82

Leave a Reply

