Change of Command Ceremony

This morning I went for a run along the harbor with EV.  We went 2.56 miles in 28:54.  It was a little slow, but he’s still recovering from an injury and we enjoyed each other’s company and the sights of the harbor/ocean.  It was a great way to start the day!!  Then it was back to my room for a quick change into uniform and EV and I went to Starbucks for breakfast.  Then it was time for the Brass Quintet to meet up and we headed to Fort MacArthur for the Change of Command Ceremony for the District Commander of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Los Angeles District.  It was a LONG ceremony – the Brigadier General that was the senior commander talked forever.  The ceremony last almost an hour and a half, but at least we were seated.  Then we played for about 20-30 minutes for the reception following the ceremony.  The members of Thunder Mountain Brass did very well.

Once we were back to the hotel, I got changed and after a little while FV, EV, and I went to Roscoe’s for lunch.  They are known for their chicken and waffles.  I just had a waffle – don’t care much for fried chicken.  The waffle was good, though.  It was a nice walk there and back.  Once back to my room, I took about an hour and a half long nap, played on my computer, and crocheted some (not all at the same time).  We went to California Pizza Kitchen for a late dinner and I had a mushroom pizza.  It was really good, but I’m thinking now that I probably shouldn’t have eaten the whole thing.  It wasn’t a super big pizza, but my tummy is kind of complaining now.

I’m about to head to bed.  We’re planning on going running again in the morning before our flight home.

Today’s high:  79
Current:  67

Leave a Reply

