They say it’s your birthday!

Happy 34th Birthday to me!!  I had an awesome day!  I got up and went to Church this morning.  I got up late – like 20 minutes before I had to be there for choir warm-ups and there was no way I was going to get 2 guys up and ready in time, so I went alone.   I got in my van and turned it on, and on the radio was "Birthday" by the Beatles!!!  How cool is that!  So I got to listen to that on the way to church, and I sat in the parking lot for a bit to finish the song.  Then after we warm up, we always sing happy birthday to any birthday people for the week.  So the choir sang to me.  The service was really good although I had a hard time staying awake during the sermon.  It wasn’t that the sermon was boring or that I was really tired.  But I got something in my eye the other day and I think it scratched my cornea a little bit.  The eye has a really cool mechanism to heal itself, but it involves making the eye go shut and that makes you sleepy.  

After church, I went home and my guys were up and they both wished me Happy Birthday.  I made some cinnamon rolls for breakfast.  Then about 1130, I went and laid down to take a nap.  I decided not to fight my eye anymore.  I took a 2 hour nap and that sure felt good.  When I woke up, I had to get into uniform and get ready to go.  Once I was dressed, I got my trombone out and warmed up and ran through my solo before we headed out to the Ethel Berger Center, here in town.  The Band put on a Solo & Ensemble Recital, and I performed a solo at it.  RR did 3 pieces from West Side Story on french horn with piano accompaniment.  I turned pages for K who was accompanying.  Then it was my turn.  It didn’t go nearly as well as I would have hoped or liked it to, but I don’t think the audience noticed too much.  After I was done, DJ (our Ops guy in charge of the event, and also acting as MC) announced that it was my birthday and K played Happy Birthday on the piano and everyone in attendance sang to me.  Ryan had arranged that one.  🙂  After my solo was the Tuba/Euphonium Quartet and then the Jazz Quintet.  Everyone played really well and the audience seemed to enjoy it.  Once it was done, I got my horn packed up and we headed home so  I could change out of uniform.

We met K at Chili’s for dinner and we had a great time.  And of course, they told our waitress that it was my birthday and they came and sang to me when they brought me my dessert.  I ate way too much, but I had a great time hanging out with my Sweetie and my son and my bestest friend!  And K bought dinner – thanks so much!!!  After we ate, we went to the grocery store for a few things and then home.  I called Mom & Dad and we talked for a while.  Oh, and earlier today my grandparents called and that was a nice surprise!!!

I want to thank everyone for the phone calls, cards (real and e-cards), and TONS of facebook messages.

Today’s high:  63
Current:  46





One thought on “They say it’s your birthday!

Leave a Reply

