Marathon Day!!!

This morning I was up bright and early and met up with S at 0545 – we actually ended up on the elevator together.  The hotel had shuttles for us to the start and we were on the 0600 shuttle.  It only took about 25 or so minutes to get to the start point.  We went and found the corrals where we’d be starting and just kind of hung out.  We hit the porta-potties after S checked her bag at the UPS trucks that were being used to transport stuff to the finish line.  I didn’t have a bag.  Then we headed to our starting corrals – S to 2 and me to 7.  The race got under way, and we headed out.  I was a little bit chilly at the beginning, but that was fine because I knew I’d warm up, and I did.  I hit the 10K mark at 1:20:34, the half marathon mark at 2:50:41, and 20 miles at 4:40:00.  I had to take a quick potty stop at about 17.5.  I was feeling really good until about 16 or so and then I started hurting, but I kept going – just walked more frequently and longer.  Finally, the finish line was in sight, and I finished in 6:24:02, which is a PR (personal record) by 10 minutes and 39 seconds!!!  My average pace was 14:39 per mile and I burned 2246 calories (according to my Garmin).  S got a PR also, and qualified for the Boston Marathon with her time of 3:38:32.  Way to go  !!!!  After I finished and got my medal and had my picture taken, I got some food – a banana, a HUGE bagel (which even shared with Robert was too big), and some water and Gatorade (thanks Sweetie for getting!!).  It was quite easy finding Ryan and Robert and S, so that was nice.  Then we walked and got on the Metro Light Rail to get back to the hotel.  It took about 1/2 hour or so to get back, and it sure felt good to sit.  But then getting up again at our stop was interesting.  Once back to the hotel, I took a shower and stitched for a while and then we went to IHOP for dinner.  So Robert got to ride the train one last time for this trip.  Now Robert’s in the bathtub and I’m about to go to bed.

Today’s high:  69
Current:  55

Leave a Reply

