Marathon Race Expo

We got up this morning and had our cereal and did stuff on computers for a while.  Then we headed down to the lobby about 10 and I got to meet my friend   for the first time in person!!!  Then we all headed to the Metro Light Rail station near the hotel and bought our tickets and headed to the Phoenix Convention Center for the race expo.  After we arrived, S and I got our race numbers and t-shirts and then we got our goody bags.  Ryan and Robert each got one as well, so lots of freebies!  There was a sample bottle of olive oil in the goody bags.  How cool is that – now I get to try cooking with it finally.  We walked through the little marathon "store" first and I got a t-shirt and a 26.2 sticker and Ryan got a shot glass for our collection and a magnet for the fridge, and we got Robert a little teddy bear.  Then we walked through the rest of the expo – lots and lots and lots of vendors, some with free samples that we picked up or tried, some with stuff to buy.  It was a lot of fun looking at everything and trying some of the free samples of various sports/fitness drinks and foods.

Once we had looked at everything, we got back on the metro and headed to The Old Spaghetti Factory for lunch.  That was really good – and good that we went at lunch.  We only had to wait about 10 minutes.  I don’t think I even want to know what the wait was like come dinnertime.  After we were done eating, we headed back to the hotel to relax.  I played on my computer and the three of us went to the pool and hot tub for a little while.  They’re outdoors and the heater on their pool isn’t working right now, so that was COLD, but the hot tub felt really nice.  We stayed down there for maybe 20 minutes or so and then headed back up to our room (which, by the way, is on the 9th floor and affords us a beautiful view of the city.  I should take a pic from the window tomorrow. . .).  I stitched for a while and the guys played.  Then I texted S and we met up in the lobby again and walked to find some place to eat.  We were just going to go to a grocery store and get stuff for pb & j sandwiches, but Ryan saw a sign for a Subway, so we went there to eat instead.  And then it was back to the hotel for the evening.  I stitched some more and now I’m about to go to sleep.  My alarm is set for 0430 tomorrow morning – marathon day!!!!

Today’s high:  70
Current:  55

Leave a Reply

