Motorcycle Basic Rider Course, Day 2

This morning was like yesterday morning – pack lunches, eat breakfast, do computer for a little bit and then head to post to the classroom.  We finished going through the book and watched a few more videos and then we took the written test.  It was 50 multiple choice questions and took me less than 10 minutes to complete.  I got 100% on it.  Then we had an hour break for lunch (after yesterday, I knew this was our lunch break) and I drove to the driving area and then ate my lunch and stitched for a while.  Then it was time to get gloves and helmets on and get our bikes going.  Those of us that arrived a little early got to fire up our bikes and do some practice riding so that was cool.  Today we did U-turns within a small area, sharper turns, stopping while in a curve, lane changes, swerving, and going over obstacles in the road (2 x 4s were used for us).  Then we took our riding test.  It was a lot easier than I thought it would be, and only 4 things – 2 U-turns (one in each direction), swerving, straight line braking, and negotiating curves.  You were allowed up to 20 penalty points, and I only accrued 5.  I went too slow in the curve.  All six of us in the class passed and I got my card so now I can get my motorcycle endorsement on my license (I’ll be calling Michigan tomorrow) and then I can ride on post!    Once we had gotten our cards, we were done, and I headed home.  Once home, we went and picked Robert up from school and went to Burger King for dinner.  We didn’t have any dishes to eat off of since we kept forgetting to do the dishwasher.  Then it was home for a little bit before heading to the church for choir practice.  It sure felt good to be back there!  Rehearsal went well and then home again.  It’s been a long day and I’m heading to bed.

Today’s high:  80
Current:  68
 

Leave a Reply

