Motorcycle Basic Rider Course, Day 1

This morning was a kind of early morning.  I got lunches packed and my breakfast made and checked my e-mail.  Then I headed off to post for Day 1 of the Motorcycle Basic Riders Course.  We spent about 3 hours in the classroom doing bookwork and watching some videos.  There are 6 of us in the class, all military, 2 female and 4 male, 4 enlisted (3 male and 1 female) and 2 officer (1 each male and female) and our instructor is really good.  He really knows how to get everyone involved in the discussions and learning.  After those 3 hours, we got an hour which turned out to be our lunch break (I didn’t figure this out until later when we didn’t get lunch at a normal time.  I’m not used to eating lunch at 1030).  At least I was a little hungry, so I ate part of my lunch as a snack.  I also go about 1/2 hour of stitching done while sitting in the van waiting for the rest of the class to show up at the riding course.  Eventually everyone was there and we got helmets and gloves (to borrow) and we picked out our bikes.  I’m on a Suzuki.  It’s smaller than Ryan’s but good to learn on.  Once we started riding, we started at the very beginning.  We learned our way around "our" bike, found all the controls and stuff, learned how to get on, got comfy on, how to start.  Then we just walked our bike a little bit while in neutral with the engine off.  Then with the engine on.  Then we started learning about the friction point where the clutch just starts to engage and we walked it using the bikes power.  Then we finally got to get our feet up on the pegs.  Eventually during the day, we practiced turning sharp and not sharp corners, weaving around cones, driving really slow and maintaining balance, and of course stopping.  We practiced shifting from 1st to 2nd gear and back.  We practice going from 2nd to 3rd gears and back.  I had a lot of fun and learned a lot as well.  I enjoyed my first day of riding a motorcycle.  And in the confines of the course area, I drove almost 12 miles!  Finally the day was done and I could get in my a/c in my van – it was pretty warm today and we’re in long pants and long sleeves.  Once home, I relaxed for a bit and checked my e-mail and then Ryan and I went to get Robert from school.  Robert helped Ryan make mac & cheese for dinner and had jalapeno poppers to go with it.  It was a good dinner and nice not having to cook.  Then Robert read his books and we played for a while before he headed to bed.  I crocheted for a while and now I’m going to bed, too.

Today’s high:  82 (Tied the high set in 1997)
Current:  68

One thought on “Motorcycle Basic Rider Course, Day 1

Leave a Reply

