Fall Clean-ups

It was kind of an early morning for me.  I had formation at 0700.  We met up with a couple of other units that fall under Garrison and we got our areas for fall clean-ups.  We picked up trash – tons of cigarette butts, straw wrappers, napkins, etc.  I even found some pieces of steel.  One guy in the band found a used diaper.  YUCK!  We also picked up large branches and piled them up for pick up and cleaned along the sides of streets.  We worked for about 4 hours – all morning – and then got called to our rally area for lunch.  All the First Sergeants from the units chipped in and they bought pizza for all of us.  They had a TON of pizzas for us – maybe like 50 pizzas for 75 or so Soldiers.  That was really cool of them, though.  After we were done eating, the other half of the band showed up (they had a gig this morning) and we were released and they took over.  I headed back to the band hall and played on my computer and stitched for a little while as it was still lunch time.  Then I spent the afternoon in my Ops office.  Eventually it was time to go home and that’s where I went.  I got a much needed shower – after picking up gross trash all morning.  Then we went and got Robert from school and went to Chili’s for dinner.  Then it was off to Target to look for Halloween costumes for me and Ryan – we don’t know what we want to be, but we’re planning on going to a Halloween party after trick or treating (and pending getting a babysitter).  We found a few things that we liked, but we’re still going to look a few other places this weekend before we decide.  Once we were home and had Robert in bed, I was too tired to stitch so I crocheted for a little bit.

Today’s high:  86
Current:  70

Leave a Reply

