Happy Birthday to my wonderful son Robert!!! (and my first gig)

Happy Birthday to my "baby" boy Robert!!  I can’t believe that he is 5 already.  I made pancakes for breakfast this morning, per his request.  And I found a candle to put next to his plate for him to blow out.  We had the present we got him sitting next to his plate.  We got Mario Super Sluggers for our Wii for him.  It’s a baseball game with the Mario characters.  Ryan got the cupcakes frosted and we got all the cupcakes and capri suns ready to go to school.  I carried the cupcakes, Ryan carried the bag of capri suns, and Robert rode his bike.  We brought the birthday goodies to the office.  Then it was home for a bit before heading to work.  After formation, the Brass Quintet headed out, and I had my first gig with the 36th Army Band.  It was for the Assumption of Charters ceremony.  I’m not quite sure what the ceremony was about because where they had it is small and there wasn’t room for the BQ inside.  We sat in the hallway outside the doors and they opened the doors when it was time for us to play.  Kind of wierd.  But I now have my first ceremony under my belt.  Once we got back to the band hall, I started working on some Ops stuff until lunch.  Then I played on my computer during lunch and didn’t get any stitching done.  About 1250, I headed out and went to Robert’s school to his classroom for when they had their cupcakes.  He was really happy to see me, and the kids loved the cupcakes (chocolate with chocolate frosting).  Ryan showed up as well for a little while before he had to go to class.  It was a lot of fun watching them, and I stayed until the end of the day and got to see their Treasure Box time (when a student gets 5 "good job tickets" they get to go to the treasure box and pick out a small toy – Robert got one today!!) and hear their song they sing at the end of the day.  Maybe someday I can get Robert to sing it for the video camera.  

Then it was back to work for a little while more.  I finally finished up all the scripts, and I got the calendar updated, and I took care of a few more job requests.  Then I headed home to change out of uniform before getting Robert from school.  We came home for a little while and then I took him to McDonald’s for dinner.  Ryan was in Tucson for a VA appointment – he got to eat dinner at Waffle House after his appointment!  While we were at McDonald’s, Grandma Ele called to wish Robert a happy birthday.  That sure was a nice surprise!!  Thanks Grandma!  Then it was home and Robert got to try out the new Wii game.  He sure had fun with it and he beat the other team (baseball) 17-0.  He even hit a grand slam!!  I’ll have to video him playing Wii sometime, too.  Once he was tucked into bed, I crocheted and chatted with my friend A.  Now Ryan is home and I’m going to finish up on here and head to bed.

Today’s high:  93
Current:  79

Leave a Reply

