A day off. . . for the most part.

Another of what has become a typical morning here – get up, get lunch packed, breakfast made, and walk with Robert to school.  Then it was home and send Ryan off to college.  After he left, I did some computer stuff and I also made a few phone calls, one of which lasted almost an hour to get our refund from Chrysler for our extended warranty resolved.  The warranty had a 100% money-back guarantee on it, and now that the warranty has expired, I applied for the refund since we never had any claims on it.  We’re supposed to get our purchase price (just over $2200) back.  But I got a letter yesterday saying I wasn’t entitled to a refund.  So I called and talked to people and got the situation resolved and we should have the check within 10 days.  The other call was to the Village of Carthage to change our address with them since we’re paying water for our renters in New York.  Ryan came home after his first class of the day – he has a few hours between classes and can’t fit all his books for Tuesday in his backpack. 

Soon I went and got changed into my uniform and got my hair up.  I had to go to post for the bi-weekly IPR (In-Progress Review).  Since I’m in charge of Ops now, I’ll be going to these planning meetings every other Tuesday.  One of the other guys in Ops went with me today to show me where the meeting was and introduce me to the people that we deal with.  At the meeting, they talked about all the upcoming taskings, some of which pertain to the band and some not.  It only lasted about 1/2 hour, so not too bad.  Then it was back to the band hall and I changed and left my uniform in my locker and headed home with a stop at the commissary for a few things we forgot Sunday when we shopped without a grocery list (it got left at home).  Today was Robert’s first day of Kids W.O.R.L.D, the after-school program he’ll be doing when Ryan has afternoon classes and I have to work.  Ryan got home from class early – another instructor had had a death in the family (2 out of 4 of his instructors), so we walked to the school together to get Robert.  Boy was he not happy to be going home.  He wanted to stay "until the end" – well, the end is whenever parents pick up their kids.  But he got over it and we went and got the mail on our way home.

I made spaghetti for supper and that was good.  I even remembered to get garlic at the commissary, so I was able to use fresh garlic instead of garlic powder.  Of course, now I’m paying for it and I think I’ll need a dish of ice cream so I’m not burping up garlic for the rest of the night.  After Robert was in bed, I crocheted.

Today’s high:  98
Current:  83

One thought on “A day off. . . for the most part.

Leave a Reply

