Memorial Day

I hope everyone remembered to take a moment to think about the real reason for Memorial Day.  The real reason is to pay tribute to those brave men and women who gave the ultimate sacrifice to help keep our country free.  Thank you also to all of my fellow brothers and sisters in arms, especially those who are deployed in harm’s way in Iraq & Afghanistan.

This morning was an early morning for us.  We stopped at McDonald’s for breakfast (which was eaten in the car) on our way to post for my 0620 formation.  We had a parade in Camillus, NY, a very small village about an hour and a half from here, just south of Syracuse.  I love small-town parades – the crowds seem much better and more appreciative that the larger towns.  The parade was only about 3/4 mile long, and the sides of the streets were just FULL of people.  Of course, having a beautiful day helped, too, I think.  After the parade, the Elks Lodge had a lunch for us – grilled chicken, potatoes, macaroni salad, baked beans, and drinks.  It was pretty good, and always nice to get free food.  Ryan and Robert were able to eat as well.  After we were done eating, we headed to the mall in Syracuse to look for a camera for Robert since he loves taking pictures and they make digital cameras for kids.  They didn’t have what we were looking for, but we each got a new book from Borders, and Robert got to ride the carousel.  Robert and I both slept in the car on the way home, and I continued my nap for a while after we got home.  We spent the afternoon watching the NASCAR race postponed from yesterday.  I made spaghetti for supper.  I found the camera we wanted online and I got it ordered – VTech Kidizoon Digital Camera.  Robert is going to be excited when it comes in the mail for him – he doesn’t know we’re getting it for him, and the package will be addressed to him.  After Robert was in bed, I called Mom & Dad since I kind of forgot yesterday.  Ryan taked to them for a while as well.  I also got some stitching done.

Today’s high:  60
Current:  47

Leave a Reply

