Dust

I was awake at 0520 this morning.  I was ready to go for a 6 mile run.  And then I went outside.  WINDY and dusty.  Nope, not running in that.  So I played on my computer for a little while and then I went back to sleep for about an hour.  I was back awake about 0720 or so and I got ready and was actually out the door in enough time to turn in a bag of laundry AND get to breakfast before the chow hall closed!!  What a great start to the morning.  After formation, I checked my e-mails and did a few things on the computer for a while and then I helped do some paperwork for stuff to be loaded into the quad cons in the afternoon.  Lunch was a little different today.  I stitched for about a half hour first and then went to lunch.  I met up with my friend DV, but he couldn’t go to lunch until a little later.  It was nice eating with him and chatting about stuff, and then it was back to work.  We got more stuff loaded into the containers for the first part of the afternoon.  We had Brass Quintet rehearsal for an hour or so and then several of us from supply double checked the paperwork and everything for tomorrow’s container loading episode.  By then it was the end of the day and I headed to the chow hall for dinner.  Holy cow had it gotten DUSTY out.  It wasn’t as orange as we’ve seen in the past, but still.  Dinner was good with fellow bandsman AM, and then when we came out of the chow hall to go back to the band hall, it was starting to rain a little.  We got back to the band hall and had a really good and productive salsa rehearsal.  We even put together a new piece for our last few gigs here in Iraq.  I walked home with WW and he’s been to Ft. Huachuca before, so we talked about that while we walked.  Just as we were getting to the LSA (our living area), it started to rain a little again.  It wasn’t bad and I made it to my room.  Now I’ve had a nice shower and I’m ready for bed.

Today’s high:  84
Current:  63

Leave a Reply

