Mmmmm – the smell of new running shoes!!

I was up early enough to make it to breakfast this morning! What a great way to start the day. Now if only they’d stock enough Cheerios so they don’t run out before the end of breakfast so us late-goers can get Cheerios. After formation I started working on property book stuff in my office. And e-mails. Always e-mails. I ate lunch by myself today. It was kind of nice for a change, but I always enjoy eating with my friends as well. Then I had time for a little bit of stitching when I got back to my office. After lunch we had Brass Quintet rehearsal for about an hour and a half, and that was fun as always. I really enjoy playing in Quintet. Mail call was good today. I got a whole bag of ADO stuff for Soldiers and I got my new pair of running shoes!!! I love the smell of new running shoes. About 1530, I headed home and got changed into PTs and headed out for a run – wearing my new running shoes. Talk about happy feet!! I went 3.92 miles in 38:59, a 9:57 pace. My goal for today was under a 10 minute pace, so goal accomplished! It was a beautiful day besides, so that made for an even better run.

Once home, I grabbed a quick shower and then it was off to the chow hall for dinner and then back to the band hall for salsa rehearsal. Rehearsal went really well and it was pretty fun. Then it was home to relax and do computer stuff and chat with Ryan and other friends. Now I’m heading to bed so I can get up and run again in the morning.

Today’s high: 64
Current: 55



ABC’s of Me

My friend ppsassygrl  had this in her blog and I thought it looked fun so I’m "stealing" it.

ABC’s of Me

A – Age: 32 (less than a month until I’m 33!)

B – Bed size: Twin right now; queen when I’m back home in NY

C – Chore you hate: Dusting

D – Dad’s Name:  Dale

E – Essential start your day item: a nearby bathroom

F – Favorite actor(s):  Kevin Costner, Harrison Ford, Adam Sandler

G – Gold or Silver: either

H – Height: 5’5"

I – Instruments you play(ed):  Trombone, Euphonium, Tuba, and Piano

J – Job title:  Army Bandsman

K – Kid(s): Yes, one son, 4 1/2 years old

L – Living arrangements:  Here in Iraq – a 10 ft. by 15 ft. (maybe) room shared with a roommate

M – Mom’s name:  Sally

N – Nicknames:   tbonegirl (online name), LY

O – Overnight hospital stay other than birth: Tonsils, having my son

P – Pet Peeve:  Inconsiderate people

Q – Quotes you like:  Smile!  It’s almost Friday.

R – Right or left handed:  Right (although I can write legibly with my left hand – it just takes a lot longer)

S – Siblings: younger brother

T – Time you wake up:  0515 during the week (ok, this is when I *should* wake up), 0715 on Saturday, usually around 0900 or so on Sunday – of course, these are all usual times.  In the Army, and especially deployed, things change.

V – Vegetable you dislike:  beets

W – Ways you run late: Hitting snooze way too many times

X – X-rays you’ve had:  Left knee (did they x-ray it?), left wrist (wierd calcium deposit bump), mouth (other than my normal dental x-rays – when I got hit in the face with a softball)

Y – Yummy food you make: Spaghetti, meatloaf, chocolate chip cookies, apple pie

Z – Zodiac: Pisces