FOB Kalsu and my first slung ceremony

Wednesday evening we flew out of here to FOB Kalsu.  It was quite an interesting evening again.  We got to the flight line when we were supposed to, only to find out we were on weather hold.  Go figure.  LOL  Well, we brought all our equipment to the ready area and then someone had to stay with it.  That someone was me – yes, I volunteered.  I got a picture with some Estonian Soldiers, so that was cool.  Another to add to my country collection.  I stood out on the flight line for over an hour and a half before the rest of the band came back so we could finally fly out.  Our flight was uneventful and short and we got to the FOB and got our billets for the night.  Some of us went to the chow hall for midnight chow, so I had breakfast at midnight.

Thursday we were up and headed over to the ceremony site.  It was cold – probably about 45 degrees and the ceremony was outside.  Brrrrrr.  I had a nice little surprise before the ceremony though.  I was in a little group chatting with some of my band friends, and I sensed someone coming up behind me.  I turned around and it was my friend CJ!  He was there as part of a security detail for a high-up person that was attending the ceremony.  So that was a nice way to start off my day.  The ceremony went ok and wasn’t too long.  There wasn’t a place to stack our weapons, so we "wore" them for the ceremony.  This is the first time during my 2 deployments that I’ve had my weapon slung during a ceremony.  After the ceremony was done, it was back to our rooms and we were off for a while.  I headed to the chow hall with a few friends and then after we ate, we went and wandered around the bazaar and checked out the PX.  Then back to the room, and I took about a 30 minute nap before our next formation.  Next formation we got our flight info and then I went back to my room and got packed and then I took another 45 minute nap. 

Then it was time to turn in our linens and head over to the flight line with everything for roll call and our briefing.  Once that was done, we were released to chow and had our time to be back.  I stopped at the PX as well and bought a blue lens flashlight so I could read my book.  It’s DARK on the flight line, and the only colors of flashlights authorized out there were blue or green.  I also bought another fleece hat (uniform type).  I have 2 already, but they were both in my room back here at Victory.  So I bought another one, and boy am I glad I did.  It was chilly out there, and I’m glad I was able to have my ears covered.

We finally left on our flight after being on the flight line for 4 hours waiting (there were 2 groups before us) and we got back to Victory and got our equipment loaded on the truck and then back to the band hall and unloaded and inside.  We got our instructions and were released.  I headed up to the MWR for the tail end of Country Night.  I got to see some of my friends as we got everything put away (the speakers and stuff).  Then I came home and got unpacked enough to get me through the night and after a little bit on my computer, I went to bed.

I slept until almost 1100 this morning and then got up and ready for the day.  I did some stuff on my computer and got laundry ready to turn in – TWO bags again.  Geez.  I need to turn in laundry more often.  Then it was off to work.  We had stage band from 1300-1500 and then I had to go draw funds for our purchasing stuff.  That took up pretty much the rest of the afternoon, so it was a really quick day.

I had Joyful Noez rehearsal this evening, and since we hadn’t gotten an e-mail with a set list for tonight, and our leader wasn’t there, I took charge and picked out some Christmas music for Sunday.  Rehearsal went really well, and we went through all 7 songs twice plus a little bit of just jamming and we were done just after 2000!  We headed to the chow hall for dinner and then JM gave me a ride home as he had his truck there.  That was nice – I don’t mind walking, but now that it’s gotten chilly out, I’ll take a ride once in a while.

Now I’m chatting with Ryan and typing up the music for JN and then I’ll be heading to bed.  

Today’s high:  59
Current:  45

Leave a Reply

