9 October

Travel Day

I got up this morning and got finished packing and got ready to leave.  NJ drove me to where I was flying out of and I filled out the necessary documents as I was going to be flying Space Available (Space A).  Then NJ left and I went and sat in the waiting area to wait for roll call for my flight.  I got a lot read in my book and finally it was our flight’s time.  Everyone that was waiting to go Space-A was able to get on the flight so that was a good thing.  Then I got my protective gear on and headed to the gate area where I had to wait a bit more – more reading time for me!  We got on the plane for our flight out and it was uneventful and pretty short.  I read more on the plane.  Once here (where I am), we had a short welcome video and then we got our baggage.  I got on the bus that had been indicated to me and got to the temporary billeting area.  I got my room assignment and found where I’ll be staying until I go back.  They are 20-person bays – 10 bunkbeds and we each have a small lockable area for our valuables.  Not a lot fits in there, but at least I’ll have a place to keep my laptop and stuff.  I found an empty bunk and got situated.  And I changed into PTs.

Then I finally headed out about 1330, map in hand, in search of the chow hall.  It was about a 10 minute walk and closed at 1430 so I was able to finally get some food – my first of the day.  After I ate, I started my walk.  I found the education center where my class next week will be (I’m here for a suppy class) and called back to the Band to let them know I made it here safely.  Then it was off again and I found the outdoor pool, gym, theater, chapel (got a schedule and have decided I’ll be going to 2 services Sunday morning – Traditional Protestant and Lutheran), MWR/Rec Center – this is where I’ll be able to get on the internet, the USO where I can make phone calls (there’s also an AT&T call center), and the PX area.  They have a REAL Beauty Shop here, unlike the one back at "home" that is a "Beauty" shop but more guys go in there for haircuts than anything.  I’m going to go tomorrow and get a manicure and pedicure done, and maybe a facial.  We’ll see.  It’s not like I won’t have time.  $11 for a manicure and pedicure and then $22 for the facial.  I’ll have to think on that one.  And then I found my way back to where I’m staying.  Including my stop at the chow hall for food, I finished my recon of the area in 2 1/2 hours.  Tomorrow I’m going to see how long it takes to get from "home" to the chow hall and from the chow hall to the ed center.  And I think I may take my GPS watch as well to see how far everything is.  I figure I probably walked 2-3 miles this afternoon.

Once back, I stitched outside in the area by the leisure centers until it was too dark to see and then I headed to dinner.  After dinner I headed to the MWR to get on a computer.  I stitched while I waited – about 45 minutes.  My 30 minutes on the computer went by way too fast.  The internet is really slow, so all my blog posts will have to wait until I get home.  Once back to where I was staying, I crocheted on a Christmas present for a while before heading to bed.

It’s pretty nice here where I am.  There are sidewalks along most of the roads, not much traffic it seemed, and the few people I stopped to ask directions were really helpful.

Leave a Reply

