HAPPY BIRTHDAY ROBBIE!!!! (and No shortage of hot water)

Happy Birthday Robbie!!  It’s hard to believe that you’re 4 already.  It seems like just yesterday that I was holding you in my arms for the first time.  Mommy misses you lots and I LOVE YOU and Daddy very much!

I was up this morning and at the softball field by 0600 ready for practice, only to find out we weren’t having practice because the field has been "turned into" a "football field".  Ok, so there are a few cones marking the corners of the "football field" but other than that, it still looks awfully like a softball field.  So no practice today, and probably no softball game against the 4ID Band on Wednesday this week.  I’m kind of bummed about that.  So I came back to my room and went back to sleep for another hour before getting up and getting ready for work.  Breakfast was good – french toast sticks!!  At formation, we promoted SE to Sergeant First Class and HH to Sergeant, so that was nice.  It’s always nice seeing well-deserving Soldiers get promoted.  The Woodwind Quintet gave the Monday Morning Briefing today and talked about a couple of gigs they did last week.

I spent the rest of the day doing supply stuff.  Brass Quintet rehearsal was not because NJ had to go to a meeting about an upcoming gig and stage band rehearsal was not because of a mock promotion board and rearranged schedule.  I finished up all my preliminary stuff for the ADO uniform stuff order for September, and then I started placing the orders for the Soldiers in my unit.  I stitched for about 45 minutes at lunch to break up the day.  I got quite a bit accomplished today and I’m happy about that.  Then after details, I headed to dinner and then home.

After a long day in the heat, sometimes a nice cool shower would feel really good.  Well, we don’t have that luxury around here.  The water tanks for the showers are above ground and because it gets so hot during the day, the water gets heated up in the tanks.  There are times when I have the shower all the way on cold and it’s still almost scalding hot.  Instead of water heaters here, we could use some water coolers.  LOL  So unlike most common showers that are shared by hundreds of people, there is no shortage of hot water.

I stitched for an hour and a half and that sure was nice to be able to relax this evening.  I was supposed to have a stitching night with DG, but something came up on her end and we’re rescheduling for sometime in the next few weeks.  I also got my beginning of the month bills paid and checked e-mail and stuff.  And it looks like I may actually be in bed by about 10:30 or so tonight!

Today’s high:  113
Current:  100 (10:10 p.m.)

One thought on “HAPPY BIRTHDAY ROBBIE!!!! (and No shortage of hot water)

  1. Awww–happy birtheday to Robbie! I remember in college one time our showers broke and it felt like nothing other than scalding water was coming out of the head. My skin would be *purple* by the time I was done!

Leave a Reply

