A Briefing and more. . .

I started off this morning with a 3.29 mile run in 33:00.  It was a little shorter than usual since I stopped at the gym to get on the scale.  I need to do something because it appears the numbers on the scale are going the wrong way.  Hmm. . .  something like running 4-5 days a week and getting to the gym in the afternoons a few days a week perhaps.  I just need to remember how good I feel after I run in the morning!

After breakfast and formation, we had a briefing by Chief about the gig that the band did last weekend.  They played in an Iraqi village park somewhere away from here.  This village was written off as hopeless 10 months ago, but the unit that is doing patrols down there has completely changed things around.  This village had an arts festival a few weeks ago – something that would have been unimaginable 10 months ago.  And now part of our band did a concert/awards ceremony there, and did a few joint pieces with several Iraqi musicians from that village.  I wish I could have gone and been a part of this, but I’m sure there will be more opportunities for us to play for the Iraqi people.  They had a great experience.

The briefing lasted about an hour and then it was off to my office to do e-mail and some paperwork.  After lunch, during which I stitched for an hour, I headed up to our Property Book Office to pick up a bassoon that another unit is laterally transfering to us.  I also turned in some more paperwork  to get stuff onto our property books from the property books back at Ft. Drum.  Once back to the band hall, I spent the rest of the afternoon working on various kinds of paperwork – to turn some stuff in, to get more new stuff added, etc.  It was a pretty productive day overall.

After work, it was home to shower and change into PTs and then off for pizza for dinner and then a movie with friends.  We watched The Patriot.  What a great movie, but I had forgotten how long it was.  So it was midnight before I got home, and now that it’s almost 0100, I should probably get to bed.

Today’s high:  118
Current:  100 (12:45 a.m.)

2 thoughts on “A Briefing and more. . .

Leave a Reply

