Anterior Alveolar Ridge, Dodgeball, and VTC

I was hungry when I got to breakfast this morning – after last night’s not-so-much of a dinner.  My scrambled eggs and oatmeal sure tasted good!  And then it was time to head to the band hall for formation.  After formation, I walked back to the medical clinic to get my profile extended.  I signed in and they took my vital signs, and then after a short wait, I got called back by a very nice Staff Sergeant.  He asked me if I had gone to the dental side of the “house” on Tuesday and I told him no, that the Major that I saw didn’t think I needed to.  He said, ok, but I’m going to take you up there today.  So up we went.  I had to wait about 15-20 minutes before being seen, so I’m glad I had my book in my pocket!  I finally got in and I told the dentist (a Captain) what had happened and stuff.  And he understood the importance of a trombone player’s mouth – he used to play baritone and tuba when he was in high school (which couldn’t have been more than a couple of years – he looked really young).  He looked at my tooth and said everything looked ok, but then he took an x-ray.  And it was determined that I have a fractured Anterior Alveolar Ridge.    It’s the bone that holds your teeth in.  It’s a vertical fracture.  But he did say that everything else looked good and I should heal 100%.  So he put a splint on my teeth to help hold it in place while it’s healing.  It’s pretty much like having braces on 3 teeth (the tooth on either side of the tooth that was loosened in the accident – all hooked together) but without the brackets.  I have a wire cemented on my teeth, and then he covered it with white sealant for cosmetic purposes and to make it a bit smoother and softer than just the metal – because of the lacerations on the inside of my lip (which are healing nicely, by the way).  I have to have the splint on for at least 2 weeks – I go back on the 17th and he’ll do another x-ray and take a look at it and maybe take the splint off.  And I can’t play until at least the 13th.  I’ll go back on the 12th or 13th and have him reevaluate my playing.  So I’m really glad the SSG down in medical made me go upstairs because it might not have healed right by itself.  He did say that I had done the right thing in putting myself on a soft food diet.  But he also gave me the ok to eat pretty much normally, but I can’t use my front teeth for anything.  Eventually I’ll share my x-ray.  They’re all done on computer now, and he told me to bring in a thumbdrive next time and he’ll give me a copy of it!

That took all morning, so I checked my work e-mail really quick and then headed to lunch.  I had mac & cheese and pork & beans!  It still wasn’t super healthy, but it was more “real” than what I’ve been eating so that was nice.  It still took me a while to eat since I have to take fairly small bites and make sure I don’t get it near my front teeth.  But we have an hour and a half for lunch, so it wasn’t a problem.  After lunch I worked on getting hand receipts done in supply so that I can have people sign them soon.  I also started handing out 10th Mountain Division patches so everyone will have theirs before the Patch Ceremony tomorrow.  Around 1530 I headed off to the gym and I ran 2.82 miles on the treadmill and then I did 100 situps and 100 pushups.  

Back to the band hall for details but they were already done.  So I went to dinner – and had grilled chicken!!  That sure tasted good tonight!  Then it was back to the band hall so I could watch the band teams play their semi final matches in dodgeball.  The first team lost, but it was their first loss so they went to the loser’s bracket.  The second team ended up being one player short, so I ended up playing.  We won our match (best 3 out of 5 games) and ended up having the band vs. band match!!  That was a lot of fun, and the team I was on won.  We went to the finals and ended up losing, but it sure was a lot of fun, and the band came in 2nd and 3rd in the tourney!!  Dodgeball is not a sport to be taken lightly.  I am SORE tonight and I don’t even want to think about tomorrow.  I took pretty hard hits in my left shin and left ribs, I hit the ground one on dodging the ball and landed on my right wrist, and then muscles everywhere from the quick starts and stops and dodging and stuff.  And my throwing arm is sore, too.  But I did get some people out and caught a couple of balls.  I think one of the coolest plays of the evening was when I was ganged up on.  The other team had almost all the balls and they threw them all at me.  I didn’t know which way to go, so I didn’t go anywhere.  I just stood there with my arms crossed over my face.  Not a one of those balls hit me.  They went all around me, but I didn’t get hit.  I don’t know how that happened, and I think the members of the other team were wondering that as well by the looks on their faces.  It was a really fun time, and I’m glad that I got to play!

Then it was home for a shower and change back into ACU’s.  I had a little bit of downtime, during which I just wanted to crawl into bed and go to sleep, but I couldn’t.  I got to do a VTC (video teleconference) with Ryan and Robbie tonight!!  That was a lot of fun getting to see them and talk to them, and I think they enjoyed it too.  We got to blow each other kisses and do v-hugs and just chat and see each other.  It was only for 15 minutes, but it was better than nothing!  I hope I get to do it again sometime.  Once that was over, I headed home and now I’m heading to bed – after midnight yet again.

Today’s high:  109
Current:  93 (12:00 a.m.)

3 thoughts on “Anterior Alveolar Ridge, Dodgeball, and VTC

  1. Dodge ball! Ok, you covered your face, you had me worried for a moment. You probably confused the team when you stood still, they kept throwing the ball to the way they thought you would move – good plan!

    DAD.

  2. Lani sorry to hear about your fracture – thank goodness you went to the dentist and he took an x-ray. I had no clue they can splint teeth! And what are you doing playing dodge ball???? 🙂 Be careful – you don’t need another hit to your face.

    Happy 4th of July to you and all your fellow troops. Thank you for serving your country.

    Dar

Leave a Reply

