Happy Birthday Army & Dinner with the CG

Today is the Army’s 233rd Birthday, and my BQ got to help celebrate it.  We played a cake cutting ceremony at the Al Faw Palace this morning and that was really cool.  It was my first time at the Palace and I felt like a tourist.  I took a lot of pics, but you’ll have to wait to see them.  During the cake cutting part, they had the Guest of Honor (a high-up Command Sergant Major – it was deferred from Gen. Petraeus), the oldest Soldier present, and the youngest Soldier present.  We played a few marches before and then the Army Song at the end.  Everyone actually sang the Army Song so that was really cool.

After that was done, we went to the PX on Camp Liberty for a bit and I stocked up on some greeting cards.  The little PX on Victory doesn’t have much selection, so I took the chance to get a bunch when I could.  Then it was back to the band hall and we had a short rehearsal for gig number 2.  After that, I checked my work e-mail and answered some messages and then it was off to lunch and then home for the afternoon.  I got some stitching done and I even took a short 20 minute nap.  That felt good!

We had formation at 1600 and headed over to the Coalition Cafe (the chow hall I usually eat at) and got set up.  We started playing at 1700 when they opened the doors and we played until about 1835.  It was a lot of fun and we had lots of good comments from people eating.  We played Happy Birthday several times throughout, and we ended with the Army Song (asked our Battalion Command Sergeant Major if it was ok first).  That was a lot of fun, but boy were my chops tired after.  Once we were done, the other 4 in the group went to eat and I headed back to the band hall to get my instrument and stuff put away.

I had to be back at the chow hall by 1900 for dinner with the 10th Mountain Division Commanding General.  He wants to get to know his Soldiers and see if anyone has any issues with anything.  So tonight he ate with 15 Soldiers from the Battalion, all between E-1 and E-6.  He let us eat for a little while, and then (we could keep eating) we went around the room and introduced ourselves and told a little about ourselves – where we were from, why we joined the Army, etc.  Pretty much anything.  And then he opened the floor up to anyone that had questions or comments for him.  There were a lot of good questions asked and it was a good time.  We got a group picture after we were done, and I’ll see if I can get it to upload.  If not, I’ll post it another night.

Then it was home to shower and change and I stitched for a while more.  I’m working on Time & Season Sampler by Moira Blackburn.  

Ok, so it was going to be a picture-heavy blog tonight, but the internet is not cooperating and I can’t get any of them to upload.  I guess you’ll just have to wait.

Today’s high:  102
Current:  91 (10:45 p.m.)

Leave a Reply

