2 days, and BBQ’s first gig!

The internet was down last night so I wasn’t able to do a blog entry.  Now I have to try and remember 2 days worth.  Yesterday morning after formation was supply stuff.  I trained our newbie on how to do Administrative Adjustment Reports and between the 2 of us we got several done.  There are still more, but we got a good start.  Then after lunch was 4 hours of music!!!  We had Brass Quintet rehearsal for 2 hours – and agreed on a name for our group.  We’re Desert BBQ.  We’re in the desert.  And we’re the Brass Quintet from Bravo Team – Bravo Brass Quintet.  Kind of cheesy, but we like it.  After BQ rehearsal, we had 2 hours of salsa rehearsal.  Talk about dead chops at the end of the day.  Wow – it’s been a LONG time since I played for 4 hours almost straight.  Then I had a nice relaxing evening before bed.

This morning after formation was more BQ rehearsal all morning.  Then after lunch I did a bit of supply stuff – got SGT KW going on more AARs and I started going through and working on some lateral transfers between us and the rear detachment.  Then I came home to my room for a couple of hours for down time/job prep time.  That was nice getting to relax and let my hair down (literally), and I stitched for almost an hour.  That sure was a treat!  Then it was back to the band hall to get changed into our t-shirts and head to the gig.  We played at the Opening Ceremony of the Sam McQuade Softball Tournament, Defenders of Freedom Division.  All participants got a t-shirt, and the members of our BQ got them, too, and we wore them as our uniform shirt for the gig.  It was kind of nice being outside with short sleeves on for a change.  It was a fun gig and it went well.  I have some pictures that our 1SG took with my camera, but I’m too tired tonight to upload them so maybe tomorrow.  The 10th Mountain Division Commanding General threw the first pitch, well one of several first pitches.  We played the national anthems of Iraq and the US, and after the few short speeches, we played Take Me Out To The Ballgame.  We got popcorn after so that was cool, too.  And we get to keep our t-shirts.  So now I’ve gotten 3 t-shirts since I’ve been here!

Once we were  back and changed into normal ACUs again, we got briefed on our gig tomorrow and then we were done.  I headed over to the chapel for Joyful Noez rehearsal and that was a great way to end the night.  And I got my JN t-shirt, so I can start wearing that on Sundays for church!!  So now – 4 t-shirts.  After rehearsal and tear-down we headed to the chow hall for dinner and fellowshipping.  We said grace twice again since we said it once and then one other person showed up a little later so we blessed our food again.  And the guy that normally walks me home (because he lives in the next LSA over) is still out on missions, so Nigel our Aussie sound guy walked me home.  Now I’m chatting with my friend A and I’ll be heading to bed in a few minutes.

Today’s high:  98
Current:  88 (10:35 p.m.)

Leave a Reply

