I started off my Friday by going to the Yoga class at the gym again.  Like last time, it was a wonderful hour of relaxing and stretching.  Then NJ and I stopped at the chow hall for breakfast on our way home.  I had a nice relaxing hour before I had to head back for formation, so that was nice.  This morning was spent in stage band rehearsal and sectionals (full band for the first part and then sectionals for about half hour or so).  I ate lunch with CR – and he got to meet some more band people.  After lunch we were supposed to have a supply meeting, but it didn’t happen.  So I got some other stuff done and then later in the afternoon I walked over to Battalion and met up with one of my fellow Supply Sergeants from another company.  He had some stuff that we needed and so I got it.  Then one of his Soldiers gave me and the stuff a ride back to the band hall.  Then it was details and wait around for release formation.  After formation I had a short interview with Chief for my security clearance, and then it was off to the chapel for Joyful Noez rehearsal!

They were just finishing setting up and doing sound check when I got there – I was a lot later than I would have liked to be.  We did our prayer requests and prayer time and then into rehearsal.  Our sound system was acting kind of funky tonight, but Nigel, one of our sound guys did an awesome job and making it work somehow.  Our set list this week is mostly new to me and I have a lot of listening to do before Sunday so I can learn the songs I don’t know.  But one of the ones we’re doing is What a Friend We Have in Jesus, and that’s one of my favorite hymns!  It’s just me and Sarah (an older really nice civilian lady) singing together for that one to lead the congregation.  Everyone else in the group said we sounded really good together.  After rehearsal was done we went to the chow hall and ate together.  It’s always such great fellowship, and I like the holding hands and saying grace thing before we eat.  My usual walk home wasn’t there tonight so Darrin graciously offered to walk me home since I need a battle buddy after dark.  Darrin is one of our vocalists, from New Zealand.

Now that I’m home, I’m ready for bed.  It’s been a long day.  But before I go, I have another country to share with you.
This is a picture of me and Nigel.  He’s a Wing Commander in the Australian Air Force.

Today’s high:  104
Current:  95 (10:45 p.m.)

One thought on “

  1. Have been reading your blog, just haven’t commented.
    What a nice idea of you and soldiers from other countries!!
    Take care…
    Marion
    Nova Scotia

Leave a Reply

