Gator class and an otherwise relaxing day

I slept in this morning and got up about 7:30.  I chatted with Ryan as I was getting ready, and for breakfast I had a chocolate muffin and some lemon cookies that I still had from Kuwait.  We had formation at 0845 for accountability and then about half the band headed up to the Battalion motorpool for a class on the Gator.  We have to be licensed to drive it, and I guess our in-house training wasn’t good enough for Battalion.  At least it only was about 45 minutes long, but it was a complete waste of time.  I didn’t learn anything that First Sergeant hadn’t already taught us in the class we had last week when we first got here.  But it’s official now and we’ll be licensed on them.  After the class was done  I stopped by the post office to mail out a letter and then SGT O’B and I went by the band hall to bring our helmets back and then to Green Beans for coffee.  I actually had a chocolate smoothie and not coffee.  We hung out for a while in the pavilion area in the food court (Green Beans, Burger King, Pizza Hut, and Subway) and just talked and drank our beverages.  Then it was off to the chow hall for lunch and then home.

I changed into PTs and went to the Beauty Shop for a manicure.  I only got a sort-of one.  The power went out (they randomly shut down generators to clean them) so she wasn’t able to do a very good job.  I had to walk back to my room after she was done so I could get cash to pay with.  I only had my credit card with me but with the power out, that wouldn’t exactly work.  They were really nice about it and didn’t have a problem with it.  So I walked home and then walked back to pay.  Since I was up there anyway, I went to the band hall to call Mom & Dad even though it was an hour earlier than we had planned.  They were up anyway, so it worked out ok.  We talked for about 20 minutes and then I headed home to stitch.  I also chatted with Ryan and checked e-mail and message boards and stuff.

At 6 I met up with the other guys from the band that go to chapel together and we walked up to the chapel.  The service was nice – lots of singing again.  After the service I chatted with a few members of the praise & worship team and I’ll be joining them as a vocalist to help lead the songs for worship.  Rehearsals are on Friday evenings.  We all went to the chow hall for dinner – I walked over there with my band buddies, but I ended up sitting with the members of the praise team.  They are all really nice – mostly military, but there is one civilian contractor and a guy from New Zealand or Australia.  My band buddies left before I was done eating, but they did ask if I would be ok.  One of the guys from the praise team walked with me since he lives pretty near where I do.  That was kind of nice of him.  Most everyone else lives in the opposite direction of where I needed to go.

So now that I’m home, I’m checking e-mail and I’ll play some pogo games before I go to sleep.

The weekly running update. . .  Not as much as I would have liked, but a good start!

Today’s high:  97 – windy and dusty and it felt cool
Current:  90 (9:40 p.m.)

2 thoughts on “Gator class and an otherwise relaxing day

  1. Hi Lani

    great to see that you are doing ok. Will read whenever I get a chance and know that I am thinking of you.

    Shelleen

Leave a Reply

